Accessibility Information

City Council

City Council

City of Cape Coral Form of Government
The Mayor and Council govern by adhering to the articles of the City’s Charter, which is similar to a constitution.  The City’s form of government, Council-Manager, is described in the Charter. With this form of government, the Mayor and Council appoint a City Manager who serves as the chief administrative officer of the City.

The City Manager supervises, directs, and coordinates the various departments throughout City Hall. The manager prepares the budget for the Council’s consideration and makes reports and recommendations to the City Council. (Article 5.03)..

The residents of the City of Cape Coral elect a Mayor and seven Council Members.  Council members qualify in their respective districts but are elected at large. The elected members must reside in their district and have been continuous full-time residents of the city for the entire calendar year immediately preceding their qualification for office. All elections are non-partisan.  Terms are four years in length, and members are limited to two consecutive terms. (Article 4)

Beginning in January 2021 Regular City Council meetings will be held the first and third Wednesday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in Council Chambers.  Committee of the Whole (COW) meetings will be held the second and fourth Wednesday of the month beginning at 3:00 p.m., also in Council Chambers. Additional Committee of the Whole (COW) meetings may be scheduled to accommodate holidays or as needed.

The meetings are broadcast live on CapeTV, which is live streamed on the City website.  To access CapeTV, click here.

Click to view City Council District Map
District Council Members
 District 1 Councilmember Gloria Tate



District 1: Gloria Raso Tate 
Email:  gtate@capecoral.gov |  View District Map

Mrs. Tate was appointed to fill the vacant District 1 seat during the
February 17, 2021 Regular City Council Meeting



Sheppard

District 2Dan Sheppard
Emaildsheppard@capecoral.gov  |  View District Map

HaYDEN

District 3: Tom Hayden
Email: thayden@capecoral.gov  |  View District Map

Nelson
District 4Jennifer Nelson 
Email: jinelson@capecoral.gov  |  View District Map 
***Please note Councilmember Nelson's email address is J I Nelson NOT
J Nelson.



Robert Welsh

District 5Robert Welsh
Email: rwelsh@capecoral.gov  |  View District Map

Keith Long

District 6: Keith Long 
Email: klong@capecoral.govView District Map

Jessica Cosden
District 7: Jessica Cosden
Emailjcosden@capecoral.gov  |  View District Map