Accessibility Information

Cape Coral Announces 2024 Lighthouse Award Winners

May 8, 2024

The City of Cape Coral and the Cape Coral Municipal Charter School Foundation are proud to announce this year’s winners of the Lighthouse Awards. 

The Cape Coral Municipal Charter School Foundation presented the 2024 Lighthouse Awards at the La Venezia Ballroom during the annual Lighthouse Awards Dinner April 5. 

The 2024 Oasis Charter Schools Lighthouse Award Winners: 

  • Oasis Elementary South: Lyle Fitzsimmons
  • Oasis Elementary North: Monica Renz
  • Oasis Middle School: Kristine Christensen
  • Oasis High School: Jeff Brown

Lighthouse 2 - Copy (2)

Lighthouse 1 - Copy

The Lighthouse Award identifies and honors the most deserving teachers within the Oasis Charter Schools system. The professional honor is administered by the Cape Coral Municipal Charter School Foundation, and overseen by a Lighthouse Award Committee, which is comprised of Foundation members, parents, and community stakeholders. 

Oasis Charter Schools also presented the 2024 Beacon Award to to Susan Johnson, a veteran staff member with more than 17 years of service to the charter schools.  The Beacon Award recognizes a non-instructional charter school employee who goes "above and beyond," supporting teachers, students and the charter community.

Similar to the Golden Apple Award, the vetting process began in November with a nomination process from peers, parents and students.