A Florida Homeowner’s Guide:

Property Tax Relief for Hurricanes Ian and Nicole

Signed into law December 16, 2022, section 197.3181, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides for a prorated refund of ad valorem
taxes for residential improvements rendered uninhabitable by Hurricanes lan or Nicole. The Department of Revenue
developed this guide to help homeowners understand the statute.

Who is eligible?

A homeowner may be eligible for a partial refund of 2022
property taxes if a residential improvement was rendered
uninhabitable for at least 30 days due to Hurricane lan or
Hurricane Nicole.

To be eligible for a partial property tax refund, the property
must be determined “uninhabitable.” Under s. 197.3181
F.S., “uninhabitable’ means the loss of use and occupancy
of a residential improvement for the purpose for which it
was constructed resulting from damage to or destruction
of, or from a condition that compromises the structural
integrity of, the residential improvement which was caused
by Hurricane lan or Hurricane Nicole during the 2022
calendar year. “

If approved,

how will I receive my refund?

Refunds are processed and calculated by the
tax collector and are to be issued upon timely
payment of 2022 property taxes by the
homeowner, or immediately if such taxes have
already been paid.

Details and an example of how the
calculation is made are provided
on the next page.

I may be eligible;
how and when do I apply?

To begin the application process, home-
owners should contact the county property
appraiser for the county in which the property
is located.

The property appraiser will provide a copy of the
Application for Hurricane lan or Hurricane Nicole Tax
Refund form (Department of Revenue Form DR-5001). On
the form, the homeowner must state the number of days
the residence was uninhabitable and must sign a perjury
statement attesting to it. For the purposes of determining
uninhabitability, the homeowner must provide
supporting documentation, including, but not limited to,
utility  bills, insurance information, contractors’
statements, building permit applications, or building
inspection certificates of occupancy. For Hurricane lan, the
maximum number of days in 2022 that can be claimed is
95 days, and for Hurricane Nicole, the maximum number
of days is 52 days.

The homeowner must submit the application and
documentation to the property appraiser by April 3,
2023. The law provides a due date of April 1, 2023;
however, as this date is a Saturday, the date is extended
to Monday April 3, 2023. A homeowner who fails to file an
application by April 3, 2023, waives their claim for a tax
refund unders. 197.3181 F.S.

Form DR-5001 may be submitted before or after 2022
property taxes are remitted. Homeowners are
encouraged to submit the application as soon as possible
regardless of the status of payment.

Who decides if I am eligible and how will I be informed?

The property appraiser is responsible for approving or denying a homeowner’s eligibility for a refund based

on Form DR-5001.

No later than June 1, 2023, the property appraiser must either notify the applicant of ineligibility or notify
both the applicant and tax collector if the applicant is eligible for a refund.

Applicants found ineligible may file a petition with the value adjustment board requesting that such a refund
be granted. The petition must be filed with the value adjustment board on or before the 30th day following

the issuance of the notice by the property appraiser.
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If approved, how is the refund amount calculated?

If the property appraiser informs the tax collector of a homeowner’s eligibility for a refund, the tax
collector is responsible for calculating the refund amount and remitting it to the homeowner once
the 2022 property taxes have been paid.

The refund amount is calculated by applying the percent change in value to the number of days the residential
improvement was uninhabitable. The percent change in value is found by subtracting the January 1, 2022 just value of
the residential improvement from the January 1, 2022 just value of the entire parcel to establish the post-disaster value
and then calculating the percent change in value. The example below depicts these calculations.

Under s. 197.3181 F.S., a residential improvement that is uninhabitable has no value, although the land and other
improvements, as defined in the statute, do have value. The statute specifies that “a residential improvement does not
include a structure that is not essential to the use and occupancy of the residential dwelling or house, including, but not
limited to, a detached utility building, detached carport, detached garage, bulkhead, fence, or swimming pool, and does
not include land.”

For all approved refund applications, the property appraiser is required to provide the tax collector with the January 1,
2022, just value of the residential improvement (as defined above), the number of days during 2022 that the residential
improvement was uninhabitable, the post-disaster just value of the residential parcel, and the percent change in value
applicable to the residential parcel.

The following example is for a residential property that was rendered uninhabitable by Hurricane lan and remained
uninhabitable through the end of 2022. The following information is used to calculate the refund:

e January 1, 2022, Pre-disaster just value of the parcel: $300,000

e January 1, 2022, Pre-disaster just value of the residential improvement (the house, attached garage,
and attached porches only): $225,000

e Post-disaster just value of the parcel (January 1, 2022, parcel just value /ess residential improvement
just value): $75,000

e Number of days the property was uninhabitable: 95 days

e Total 2022 property taxes paid $2,250

The first step is to find the percent change in value by subtracting the parcel’s post-disaster just value from the pre-
disaster just value using the following calculations:

Change in value: $300,000 less 575,000 = $225,000
Percent change in value: $225,000 divided by $300,000 = .75 or 75%

The second step is to find the percent of days the residence was uninhabitable by dividing the number of days in 2022 the
residential improvement was uninhabitable by the number of days in the year using the following calculation:

| Percent of uninhabitable days: | 95 days divided by 365 days = ‘ .26 or 26% ‘

The third step is to find the damage differential by applying the percent change in value to the percent of uninhabitable
days using the following calculation:

| Damage differential calculation: ‘ .75 multiplied by .26 = ‘ 195 ‘
Finally, the refund amount is calculated by applying the damage differential to the total 2022 property taxes paid:
Refund calculation: 52,250 multiplied by .195 = »438.75
refund due
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